Third Sunday in Easter

April 19, 2010


The Midwife

My humble mission: to stand alongside,
a companion–arms opened wide–
to receive the new life
as the woman groans and wails
in labor and travail.
I join in the harmonic pain
with lamentations and keening
at the incredible effort–offering communion…

We women, you see,
express strong emotion.
It is source of stength
in releasing passions.

The Mother, founder of this birth,
and Ark of the New Covenant:
the woman crowned with stars
seen in the heavens…
now quickly flees to the desert–
to prevent being eaten,
avoiding the dragon.
If she, in simple surroundings
can crush the head of the serpent…
with the Maternal LOVE proposed–
by St. Edith, Saint and contemplative…
scripturally-correct…
who are we to argue? The New Eve,
mother of the New Adam–
visible at the opening
of the Gates of Heaven–
accompanies each child at closing
of life’s journey into the ultimate
healing–the compassionate arms of the Father–
He will grant what is best:
the bliss of Life Eternal.”

Just what did this Blessed Mother “found”?
asks the Christian-believer.

She answers through my heart…
“Do you not see the mission?
of which you, too, are the receiver…
it is the establishment of the New Jerusalem
the Son prepared
for God’s People…
where LOVE flows
in torrents of rivers
from the right side of the Temple.
Where trees freely grow,
and bright flowers a-line
the banks of that streaming.
The leaves and fruits are plucked
as medicine for the copious tears
dropping from the eyes of the wounded.
The profound LIGHT
overcomes all night…
the Source? …the glow
of The Lamb Sacrificial.

I, too, was under the star
when the magi appeared
bowing down in awesome wonder.
Without my LOVE for my Creator–
the Redeemer would never have been conceived…
or grown into saving all sinners.
My simplicity of surrender…
to be called “Christ’s first disciple”…
was not accidental.”

“Let the little children come unto me”;

“I was fourteen years old–a teenager!
Archangel Gabriel’s news
couldn’t have been more unexpected.
I suffered…
and as my reward–seven swords
pierced the Immaculate Heart of this Virgin.
But released to the world
for the cries of the children
was my identity as “Sorrowful Mother.”

“Come to me all you who are burdened…”

“His peace and rest
were upon me as blessed…
for no one else but WE….
could have survived the ordeals
to mother the Church Universal.”
Power? The wrong connotation…
LOVE conquers all obstacles–
through the grace of the Holy Spirit.
The poverty-stricken are most able;
by emptying of ego–to transform
suffering and affliction–
leaving the soul free to be filled…
with abundance so offered.
Then these can see
into all Mysteries…
lost to the intelligentsia and scholars.

You notice, probably,
the Good Shepherd incorporates balance:
the poor feast at the banqueting table–
while rich go away empty…
Each is given to each–
as the need of the Cosmos progresses.
But loss of the Divine order means
corruption and destruction.
Women, when down-trodden “anawim”,
have humility as a virtue…
aware they are not God–
they do not want power:
satisfied to be useful to God’s People.
But add plenty and ease
and what do you see: the virtue
disappearing in a moment (like Eve).

The Immaculate Conception
provided purity… so sin didn’t enter
the womb carrying the Precious Savior.
Resulting are models of life–
for those living with suffering,
standing with me below the tree–
the instrument of death by torture.

Suffering–the human lot
of pride and “fallen nature”…
now becomes the redeeming of each other.
Atoning is added to mine and His…
out of LOVE for the sisters and brothers.
Embracing agony and pain–
LOVING the crosses we bear,
gift for human endurance…
now LOVE can unfold–
in the story of the Resurrection.
Because when Satan has seen
no forthcoming disease…
no ongoing progress that pleases
he leaves…
no longer able to worry with hatred.
What is more–when assaulted with LOVE
from the hearts of mere mortals,
Jesus’ victory is accomplished–
as stated in Revelation!
Here we see the miracle evolve–
the science of LOVE unfolding.
When Satan feels and sees
LOVE and acceptance of the heat
he’s spreading…
LOVE from mere mortal humanity
as Jesus, Himself, pleaded,
“Love God with all your strength,
and your neighbor as yourself.”
Even more He said, “LOVE your enemies”
When this LOVE so total envelopes,
Satan’s power is broken;
he cannot incite
temptation nor jealousy…
self-righteousness nor greed–
so he flees…
right to the feet
of this Mother.
His agonal contortions
forces crying aloud
to be crushed
under the heel of my LOVE
stamped into instant and dark oblivion.
Oh, mercy me! Desparation
is not seeming–since
eternity is not over…
the end of the story
goes on forever; and can change
through the prayers of God’s beloved.
All warnings aside–
the words of Scripture
are mostly not literal
(visions are personal,
the details obsured
until the conclusion of the picture.)
Holy Mother Church is the last word
on how Scripture is interpreted.
(She, Christ’s Bride,
goes forth in new life)
hell will never prevail
over this mother, either.”

I, the lowly midwife…
hearing the words of assurance–
venture forth to spread to the nations…
the Good News
of Christ’s coming…
The New Jerusalem
has arrived and is dawning…
All-in-All
has consummated LOVE’s call…
on the horizon a new beginning!

3 Responses to “Third Sunday in Easter”


  1. Hi,

    My name is Rev Robert Wright, Editor for Christian.com, a social network made specifically for Christians, by Christians. We embarked on this endeavor to offer the entire Christian community an outlet to join together and better spread the good word of Christianity. Christian.com has many great features like Christian TV, prayer requests, finding a church, receiving church updates and advice. We have emailed you to collaborate with you and your blog to help spread the good word of Christianity. I look forward to your response regarding this matter. Thanks!

    Rev. Robert Wright
    rev.robertwright@gmail.com
    http://www.christian.com


    • Dear Rev. Wright, humbly honored by your request, I accept. But, if you please, Rev. Wright, I do have limitations placed on me–I don’t actually so much “socialize”–even with other Christians, for whom I’m honored to pray. I’m “drawing back” from public exposure of more of my life and ministries–realizing the nature of my writing already exposes me so much, with the current slanders and violence being perpetrated on/by priests of Holy Mother Church… I hurt so much about it–I know my limitations even more profoundly. We ALL are, after all, lambs being led to the slaughter… and need preparation by even more time spent in prayer and contemplation of the visage of our Dear Savior! Thank you again for your consideration of my puny efforts in explaining how immense is the LOVE offered–especially in suffering!

      Peace, my dear brother-in-Christ! Letha Christina Chamberlain

      Wait, Beloved, for Darkness’s Gift (2007) Run Straight TO Greatest Mystery (2010) What Am I Asked to Do? (to-be-released) and eleven other books, to be published the book-in-progress is “Psychiatry: Anathema of the Spiritual Person/confessions for the sins of a system (currently in the hands of Tan Books)


    • I just went to the website to find it is a Catholic website! I’m sorry, Father, I should have looked it up prior to responding! Bless you, Father–there is so much need for your presence on the internet! Now I’m not only “honored” but delighted! Letha Christina Chamberlain

      On Thu, Apr 22, 2010 at 4:19 PM, LETHA CHAMBERLAIN wrote:

      > Dear Rev. Wright, humbly honored by your request, I accept. But, if you > please, Rev. Wright, I do have limitations placed on me–I don’t actually so > much “socialize”–even with other Christians, for whom I’m honored to pray. > I’m “drawing back” from public exposure of more of my life and > ministries–realizing the nature of my writing already exposes me so much, > with the current slanders and violence being perpetrated on/by priests of > Holy Mother Church… I hurt so much about it–I know my limitations even > more profoundly. We ALL are, after all, lambs being led to the slaughter… > and need preparation by even more time spent in prayer and contemplation of > the visage of our Dear Savior! Thank you again for your consideration of my > puny efforts in explaining how immense is the LOVE offered–especially in > suffering! > > Peace, my dear brother-in-Christ! Letha Christina Chamberlain > > Wait, Beloved, for Darkness’s Gift (2007) > Run Straight TO Greatest Mystery (2010) > What Am I Asked to Do? (to-be-released) > and eleven other books, to be published > the book-in-progress is “Psychiatry: Anathema of the Spiritual > Person/confessions for the sins of a system (currently in the hands of Tan > Books) >


Leave a Reply

